Universe of Stories: Summer 2019

Summer at Space Station Rensselaer: Kids ages 5-12 can talk about their reading for prizes.

Launch!

Saturday, June 29 from 11-2

FREE food, balloon twisting and activities.  All children get a free reader’s kit when they pledge to read during the summer.  Bring your library card !

A Universe of Stories starts June 29 and runs until August 17. Events with an asterisk * next to them require sign-up. Call 518-462-1193 or stop in. We will not start sign-ups until the end of June.

Click here to log in to the online reading club. Each book review gives you a chance to win prizes.

Pre-K Story-time– Every Tuesday at 11 AM. (Ages 3-6 with their caregivers) Drop-in.

Space Lab– Every Wednesday at 2 PM (ages 5-12) Create, explore and play to learn.

  • 7/3- Moon Sand
  • 7/10- Rockets
  • 7/17- Alien Autopsy
  • 7/24- Galaxy Paint
  • 7/31- Spaceship!
  • 8/7- Robots
  • 8/14- Planets

 *Moon Phases– Saturday July 6, 1 PM (ages 4-12) Learn about how the earth changes the moon.

 Lego zip-line Tuesday July 9, 2 PM (ages 6-11) Make a zip-line for a Lego guy!

*Egg Drop Challenge Saturday July 13, 1 PM (ages 10-18) Scientist George Steele challenges you to create an egg-protector before your egg falls off a tall ladder!

Coding Robots– Tuesday July 16, 2 PM (ages 5-7) Learn about coding by playing with robots!

Space Race Game– Saturday July 20, 1 PM (ages 5-12) Lynne Sprague will play a huge game about the history of space flight.

Perler beads –Tuesday July 23, 2 PM Make art with fused beads.

Reptile Show Saturday July 27, 1 PM (ages 5-18)

Shrinky Dinks Saturday August 3, 1 PM (ages 6-17) Make a galaxy craft.

Flying UFO craft Tuesday August 6, 2 PM (ages 6-11

Glow Party Saturday August 10, 1 PM (ages 6-16) Turn out the lights and play the music! We will have glow sticks, lights and snacks.

*Tang Museum Thursday August 15, 11 AM (Ages 5-12) Make works of art with the Tang museum.

 *Magic Show-   Saturday August 17 1 PM (ages 4-12) Martian Magician Ron Cain! This is also the end of our reading club and we will give out prizes.

ad-calendar-2019